Click anywhere in a row to see a summary of that jurisdiction’s answers.

Supplemental Remarks

Alabama  Board of Commissioners, with ultimate approval in the Supreme Court.

Maryland  The statutory requirements are implemented by rules adopted by Court of Appeals.

Massachusetts  Rules for admission of attorneys promulgated by the Supreme Judicial Court. Board of Bar Examiners may make additional rules subject to Supreme Judicial Court approval; legislative enabling statute.

Mississippi  Board of Bar Admissions, subject to ultimate authority in the legislature with Supreme Court approval.

North Carolina  Board of Law Examiners, with ultimate approval by the Council of the North Carolina State Bar and the Supreme Court.

Texas  Legislature enacts Board’s enabling statute; Supreme Court adopts rules.

Virginia  Admission by examination: Board of Bar Examiners, with ultimate authority in the legislature. Admission on motion: Supreme Court of Virginia.

Alabama  Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university.

California  2 years of college; total of 60 semester or 90 quarter units of college credit with an average grade at least equal to that required for ­graduation, or attain specific minimum scores on selected general exams administered by College Level Examination Program (CLEP).

Delaware  Bachelor’s degree.

Georgia  Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university.

Kansas  Baccalaureate degree.

Maine  Bachelor’s degree.

Maryland  Applicant must have completed prelegal education necessary to meet the minimum requirements for admission to an ABA-approved law school.

Massachusetts  Completion of work acceptable for a bachelor’s degree or equivalent.

Michigan  2 years college; total of 60 semester or 90 quarter hours.

Mississippi  3 years college if on a 3-3 program, or bachelor’s degree.

Nevada  Successful completion of at least 3/4 of work acceptable for baccalaureate degree at an accredited college or university.

New Hampshire  3 years’ work required for a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or the equivalent.

North Carolina  Completion of academic work required for admission to a law school approved by the Council of the North Carolina State Bar.

Ohio  Bachelor’s degree.

Oklahoma  Bachelor’s degree.

Pennsylvania  Bachelor’s degree or equivalent education.

Tennessee  Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college prior to taking the examination; combined degree programs may meet this requirement.

Vermont  There is no specific prelegal education requirement for applicants for admission in general, although applicants for the law office study program are required to have a bachelor’s degree.

West Virginia  Bachelor’s degree or equivalent.

Guam  2 years college.

Puerto Rico  Bachelor’s degree or equivalent education.

Virgin Islands  Bachelor’s degree.

Alabama  Within 60 days of starting law school.

California  Within 90 days of starting law school.

Florida  Law students are encouraged, but not required, to register in the first year of law school.

Mississippi  By October 1 of applicant’s second year of law school; however, law student registration is not required.

North Dakota  Law students must file a registration application by October 1 of the second year of law school, or 14 months after the first day of the first year of law school.

Ohio  By November 15 in the applicant’s second year of law school.

Oklahoma  By October 15 of the year following the year in which law study was commenced.

Texas  Within approximately 60 days after entry into an approved Texas law school. Does not apply to graduates from approved law schools in other states.

Alabama  No fee shall be required for law student registration if the registration form is filed within the first 60 days following the commencement of the study of law. After 60 days the fee is $50, after 180 days the fee is $100, and after 390 days the fee is $250. Any applicant for admission (by examination, UBE score transfer, or reciprocity) will be required to pay a law student nonregistration fee of $250 if the applicant has never registered as a law student with the Alabama State Bar.

Florida  The law student registration fee is $400. Discounted early law student registration fees are available: $100 for those who commence in August or September and file by January 15; $350 for those who commence in August or September and file by March 15. Law students also pay a $600 fee to convert the student registration to an application in the final year of law school.

Mississippi  The law student registration fee is $125 if filed by October 1 of applicant’s second year of law school. The fee is $325 for law student registration filed after October 1 of applicant’s second year of law school.

North Dakota  The NCBE investigation fee of $250 is required upon timely filing of the law student registration. A supplemental investigation fee of $105 is paid to NCBE when applying to sit for the bar exam. No law student registration fee is paid to North Dakota, if timely filed. Late law student registration fees, ranging from $150 to $400, are paid to North Dakota if a registration is untimely filed. A registration filed by October 1 of the second year of law school or no later than 14 months after the first day of the first year of law school is considered timely.

Arizona  Arizona allows law students in their third year of study to test prior to graduation if they: 1) are currently enrolled in good standing at a law school fully or provisionally accredited by the ABA; 2) are expected to graduate within 120 days of the first day of early exam; 3) have satisfied all requirements for graduation except for not more than 8 semester hours at the time of early exam; 4) are not enrolled in more than 2 semester hours during the month of early exam and the immediately preceding month; 5) are determined by their school to be academically prepared for early testing; and 6) provide by the exam application deadline to the Committee on Character and Fitness an affidavit attested to by the applicant and the Dean of his or her law school that the above criteria are met. Applicants for early testing have an additional 60 days after award of JD to provide evidence that their JD was conferred within 120 days of the first day of test administration.

District of Columbia  A law student may complete and submit the bar application before receiving his or her degree; but he or she must, before the date of the examination, submit a certification from the law school dean showing that he or she has graduated.

Indiana  Applicants who have fewer than 5 credit hours to complete, are within 100 days of graduation, have completed 2 hours of professional ­responsibility, and have completed all requirements for admission to the bar may sit.

Iowa  Must receive degree within 45 days after the first day of the examination.

Kansas  Must graduate within 30 days after the bar examination.

Maryland  As long as the applicant is “unqualifiedly eligible” for graduation prior to the first day of the bar exam, the actual graduation date may post-date the exam.

Minnesota  Applicants may sit for the bar if coursework has been completed 30 days prior to the examination, the applicant has fulfilled all requirements for conferral, and the applicant will be awarded a JD within 120 days following the examination.

Mississippi  Must complete all work required for degree within 60 days of the examination.

Missouri  Must have completed all degree requirements prior to taking bar examination, although degree may not have been conferred.

New York  To be eligible to sit for the bar exam, a JD applicant must present requisite proof that the applicant: (a) graduated with the JD degree; or (2) completed all work required for graduation, although the degree will not be conferred prior to exam; or (c) was accepted into the Pro Bono Scholars Program.

North Carolina  Law students must graduate within 30 days after the date of the written bar examination.

Oregon  An applicant may be allowed to sit for the examination prior to graduation if the applicant (1) is currently enrolled in a law school approved by the ABA, (2) is expected to earn a JD degree or Bachelor of Law (LLB) degree within 120 days of sitting for the examination, (3) has satisfied all graduation requirements to earn a JD degree or Bachelor of Law (LLB) degree except law school coursework that can be completed during the applicant’s post-examination final semester (or quarter), (4) will not be actively engaged in more than 2 semester hours (or quarter-hour equivalent) of law school coursework other than bar examination preparation courses during the month prior to the examination and the month the examination is held, and (5) has submitted timely a properly signed Affidavit for Examination on the form provided by the Oregon State Bar certifying that the applicant is academically prepared to take the examination.

Texas  Must be within 4 semester hours of completing all requirements for graduation. Law students may complete the Texas Law Course, a pre-admission requirement, within 1 year prior to taking the bar examination.

Vermont  In 2016, Vermont adopted an early examination option for law students who have completed the equivalent of 5 semesters of full-time study. The applicant must graduate from an approved law school within 6 months of sitting for the exam.

Virginia  Must have completed all requirements for graduation prior to taking bar examination, although degree may not have been conferred.

West Virginia  Board may permit applicant to take examination where applicant qualifies for degree but will not receive it before examination. Board may permit examination in last semester of law school upon showing of scheduled active duty overseas at time of July examination.

Wisconsin  Must receive degree within 60 days after examination.

Supplemental Remarks

Alabama  Board of Commissioners, with ultimate approval in the Supreme Court.

Maryland  The statutory requirements are implemented by rules adopted by Court of Appeals.

Massachusetts  Rules for admission of attorneys promulgated by the Supreme Judicial Court. Board of Bar Examiners may make additional rules subject to Supreme Judicial Court approval; legislative enabling statute.

Mississippi  Board of Bar Admissions, subject to ultimate authority in the legislature with Supreme Court approval.

North Carolina  Board of Law Examiners, with ultimate approval by the Council of the North Carolina State Bar and the Supreme Court.

Texas  Legislature enacts Board’s enabling statute; Supreme Court adopts rules.

Virginia  Admission by examination: Board of Bar Examiners, with ultimate authority in the legislature. Admission on motion: Supreme Court of Virginia.

Alabama  Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university.

California  2 years of college; total of 60 semester or 90 quarter units of college credit with an average grade at least equal to that required for ­graduation, or attain specific minimum scores on selected general exams administered by College Level Examination Program (CLEP).

Delaware  Bachelor’s degree.

Georgia  Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university.

Kansas  Baccalaureate degree.

Maine  Bachelor’s degree.

Maryland  Applicant must have completed prelegal education necessary to meet the minimum requirements for admission to an ABA-approved law school.

Massachusetts  Completion of work acceptable for a bachelor’s degree or equivalent.

Michigan  2 years college; total of 60 semester or 90 quarter hours.

Mississippi  3 years college if on a 3-3 program, or bachelor’s degree.

Nevada  Successful completion of at least 3/4 of work acceptable for baccalaureate degree at an accredited college or university.

New Hampshire  3 years’ work required for a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or the equivalent.

North Carolina  Completion of academic work required for admission to a law school approved by the Council of the North Carolina State Bar.

Ohio  Bachelor’s degree.

Oklahoma  Bachelor’s degree.

Pennsylvania  Bachelor’s degree or equivalent education.

Tennessee  Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college prior to taking the examination; combined degree programs may meet this requirement.

Vermont  There is no specific prelegal education requirement for applicants for admission in general, although applicants for the law office study program are required to have a bachelor’s degree.

West Virginia  Bachelor’s degree or equivalent.

Guam  2 years college.

Puerto Rico  Bachelor’s degree or equivalent education.

Virgin Islands  Bachelor’s degree.

Alabama  Within 60 days of starting law school.

California  Within 90 days of starting law school.

Florida  Law students are encouraged, but not required, to register in the first year of law school.

Mississippi  By October 1 of applicant’s second year of law school; however, law student registration is not required.

North Dakota  Law students must file a registration application by October 1 of the second year of law school, or 14 months after the first day of the first year of law school.

Ohio  By November 15 in the applicant’s second year of law school.

Oklahoma  By October 15 of the year following the year in which law study was commenced.

Texas  Within approximately 60 days after entry into an approved Texas law school. Does not apply to graduates from approved law schools in other states.

Alabama  No fee shall be required for law student registration if the registration form is filed within the first 60 days following the commencement of the study of law. After 60 days the fee is $50, after 180 days the fee is $100, and after 390 days the fee is $250. Any applicant for admission (by examination, UBE score transfer, or reciprocity) will be required to pay a law student nonregistration fee of $250 if the applicant has never registered as a law student with the Alabama State Bar.

Florida  The law student registration fee is $400. Discounted early law student registration fees are available: $100 for those who commence in August or September and file by January 15; $350 for those who commence in August or September and file by March 15. Law students also pay a $600 fee to convert the student registration to an application in the final year of law school.

Mississippi  The law student registration fee is $125 if filed by October 1 of applicant’s second year of law school. The fee is $325 for law student registration filed after October 1 of applicant’s second year of law school.

North Dakota  The NCBE investigation fee of $250 is required upon timely filing of the law student registration. A supplemental investigation fee of $105 is paid to NCBE when applying to sit for the bar exam. No law student registration fee is paid to North Dakota, if timely filed. Late law student registration fees, ranging from $150 to $400, are paid to North Dakota if a registration is untimely filed. A registration filed by October 1 of the second year of law school or no later than 14 months after the first day of the first year of law school is considered timely.

Arizona  Arizona allows law students in their third year of study to test prior to graduation if they: 1) are currently enrolled in good standing at a law school fully or provisionally accredited by the ABA; 2) are expected to graduate within 120 days of the first day of early exam; 3) have satisfied all requirements for graduation except for not more than 8 semester hours at the time of early exam; 4) are not enrolled in more than 2 semester hours during the month of early exam and the immediately preceding month; 5) are determined by their school to be academically prepared for early testing; and 6) provide by the exam application deadline to the Committee on Character and Fitness an affidavit attested to by the applicant and the Dean of his or her law school that the above criteria are met. Applicants for early testing have an additional 60 days after award of JD to provide evidence that their JD was conferred within 120 days of the first day of test administration.

District of Columbia  A law student may complete and submit the bar application before receiving his or her degree; but he or she must, before the date of the examination, submit a certification from the law school dean showing that he or she has graduated.

Indiana  Applicants who have fewer than 5 credit hours to complete, are within 100 days of graduation, have completed 2 hours of professional ­responsibility, and have completed all requirements for admission to the bar may sit.

Iowa  Must receive degree within 45 days after the first day of the examination.

Kansas  Must graduate within 30 days after the bar examination.

Maryland  As long as the applicant is “unqualifiedly eligible” for graduation prior to the first day of the bar exam, the actual graduation date may post-date the exam.

Minnesota  Applicants may sit for the bar if coursework has been completed 30 days prior to the examination, the applicant has fulfilled all requirements for conferral, and the applicant will be awarded a JD within 120 days following the examination.

Mississippi  Must complete all work required for degree within 60 days of the examination.

Missouri  Must have completed all degree requirements prior to taking bar examination, although degree may not have been conferred.

New York  To be eligible to sit for the bar exam, a JD applicant must present requisite proof that the applicant: (a) graduated with the JD degree; or (2) completed all work required for graduation, although the degree will not be conferred prior to exam; or (c) was accepted into the Pro Bono Scholars Program.

North Carolina  Law students must graduate within 30 days after the date of the written bar examination.

Oregon  An applicant may be allowed to sit for the examination prior to graduation if the applicant (1) is currently enrolled in a law school approved by the ABA, (2) is expected to earn a JD degree or Bachelor of Law (LLB) degree within 120 days of sitting for the examination, (3) has satisfied all graduation requirements to earn a JD degree or Bachelor of Law (LLB) degree except law school coursework that can be completed during the applicant’s post-examination final semester (or quarter), (4) will not be actively engaged in more than 2 semester hours (or quarter-hour equivalent) of law school coursework other than bar examination preparation courses during the month prior to the examination and the month the examination is held, and (5) has submitted timely a properly signed Affidavit for Examination on the form provided by the Oregon State Bar certifying that the applicant is academically prepared to take the examination.

Texas  Must be within 4 semester hours of completing all requirements for graduation. Law students may complete the Texas Law Course, a pre-admission requirement, within 1 year prior to taking the bar examination.

Vermont  In 2016, Vermont adopted an early examination option for law students who have completed the equivalent of 5 semesters of full-time study. The applicant must graduate from an approved law school within 6 months of sitting for the exam.

Virginia  Must have completed all requirements for graduation prior to taking bar examination, although degree may not have been conferred.

West Virginia  Board may permit applicant to take examination where applicant qualifies for degree but will not receive it before examination. Board may permit examination in last semester of law school upon showing of scheduled active duty overseas at time of July examination.

Wisconsin  Must receive degree within 60 days after examination.