Note: Fees listed are timely filing fees; late filing fees may apply. Fees such as for separate character and fitness applications and/or investigations are included unless otherwise noted in supplemental remarks.

Click anywhere in a row to see a summary of that jurisdiction’s answers.

Supplemental Remarks

District of Columbia  Dates are subject to change. Applicants should check the DC Court of Appeals Committee on Admissions website for updates.

Georgia  Admission to the practice of law in Georgia is a two-step process that requires the submission of two separate applications with separate deadlines and fees: (1) Application for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law in Georgia, and (2) Bar Examination Application. An applicant must first receive Certification of Fitness to Practice Law from the Board to Determine Fitness of Bar Applicants to be eligible to submit a Bar Examination Application. Initial application deadline for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law for the February exam is the first Wednesday in July; late deadline is the first Wednesday in October. Initial application deadline for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law for the July exam is the first Wednesday in December; late deadline is the first Wednesday in March.

Indiana  Repeaters have separate deadlines.

Iowa  These are final deadlines and cannot be waived.

Massachusetts  Filing deadline is approximately 75 days prior to the exam; the date is set when the application is made available. No official late filing deadlines; bar applications are filed with the Court, and late filings must be allowed by the Court.

Montana  There are no specific allowances for late filing, and all late applicants are required to petition the Supreme Court for permission.

New York  Applications must be received between November 1 and 30 for February exam and between April 1 and 30 for July exam.

Oklahoma  Repeat exam application late filing deadlines are December 15 for February exam and May 15 for July exam.

Oregon  If the chair of the Oregon State Board of Bar Examiners finds that the deadlines place an undue hardship on the Board, the Oregon State Bar, or the testing population as a whole, then the deadlines may be extended by up to 15 business days. If the chair of the Board extends any deadlines, notice shall be placed on the web page of the Oregon State Bar’s Admissions Department.

Rhode Island  Applicants seeking admission under Article II, Rule 2(a) (attorney admission on examination) must submit their applications by ­September 1 for the February examination, and by February 1 for the July examination. Applicants seeking admission under Article II, Rule 1 (admission on examination) must submit their applications by December 1 for the February examination, and by May 1 for the July examination.

Virginia  An application shall be deemed to be timely filed if (i) it is transmitted expense prepaid to the Office of the Secretary of the Board by priority, express, registered, or certified mail via the United States Postal Service, or by a third-party commercial carrier for next-day delivery, and (ii) the official receipt therefor issued by the United States Postal Service or by such third-party commercial carrier, which shall be exhibited on demand of the Secretary, shows such transmission or mailing to the Secretary’s office on or before the prescribed deadline.

Wisconsin  Foreign-schooled applicants must submit their applications by August 1 for the February exam and January 1 for the July exam.

Palau  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the cancellation of the July 2020 Palau bar exam, Palau administered its 2021 exam in February and canceled its July 2021 exam.

Puerto Rico  Exam dates are in March and September.

California  Bar exam fees are separate from moral character application. A positive moral character determination is valid for 3 years. Thus, if a repeater has positive determination on file, the exam fee would be $677 (general applicant) or $983 (attorney applicant).

Colorado  A $200 late fee applies to applications received by the late filing deadlines (Dec. 1 for February exam; May 1 for July exam). Lower reapplication fees may apply if certain conditions are met.

Delaware  For applications filed on or before April 1: $700 for applicants not admitted in another jurisdiction; $800 for applicants admitted in another jurisdiction. For applications filed after April 1 but on or before May 1: $1,400 for applicants not admitted in another jurisdiction; $1,600 for applicants admitted in another jurisdiction.

District of Columbia  Fees are subject to change. Applicants should check the DC Court of Appeals Committee on Admissions website for updates.

Florida  Bar exam fee for attorneys is $1,600 for those admitted more than 1 year but less than 5 years; $2,000 for those admitted 5 or more years but less than 10 years; $2,400 for those admitted 10 or more years but less than 15 years; $3,000 for those admitted 15 or more years.

Georgia  There is a separate fee for the Application for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law. The fee ranges from $400 to $900 depending upon the status of the applicant at the time of submission. The applicant must apply for and receive Certification of Fitness to Practice Law prior to submitting an application for the bar examination.

Idaho  Bar exam fee for repeaters is $200 for the first 3 exams; $300 for each subsequent one.

Illinois  Bar exam fee is based on whether or not the applicant has previously filed an Illinois application, is repeating the exam, or was absent from an exam. Fee ranges from $950 to $1,450, except for repeaters, for whom range is $500 to $850. Repeater deadline ranges are November 1 to December 15 for the February exam, and May 1 to May 15 for the July exam.

Indiana  The late bar exam filing fee is $500.

Iowa  Most first-time bar exam takers must pay an $800 bar application fee. The fee for first-time bar exam takers in Iowa who have not previously been admitted to practice in any jurisdiction is $550 if they have a law student registration on file with the Office of Professional Regulation on or before January 15, 2021.

Kentucky  Fees vary depending on the deadline by which application is filed.

Louisiana  Bar exam application fee is $750 for first-time applicants who participated in the Law Student Registration program; $875 for all ­applicants other than those who participated in the Law Student Registration program.

Maine  Bar exam fee for non-attorneys includes those admitted less than 1 year in another jurisdiction.

Maryland  Repeat test takers are required to pay a $100 update fee to retake the examination if their Character Questionnaire has been pending for 3 or more years since the most recent formal update.

Michigan  $775 fee for non-attorneys does not include fingerprint fee.

Mississippi  Bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $525 if applicant filed a law student registration and $825 if applicant did not file a law student
registration. Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for 6 months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his
or her 18th birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons) must complete an NCBE report and pay the NCBE report fee. Whether the applicant is a first-time taker (non-attorney) or an attorney taking the bar exam, there is a $200 late filing fee applied to applications received by the late filing deadlines (November 1 for the February exam; April 1 for the July exam).

Missouri  Bar exam fee for non-attorneys and attorneys is $485 if never previously registered for a bar examination in Missouri but did apply for a character and fitness report as a 1L or 2L law student; $910 if never previously registered for a bar examination in Missouri and did not apply for a character and fitness report as a 1L or 2L law student. Bar exam fee for repeaters is $485 (timely filed) if applicant failed the most recent bar examination in ­Missouri; $585 (timely filed) if applicant failed a bar examination in Missouri other than the most recent exam or failed to appear at the exam for which applicant was registered.

Montana  Fees listed include the cost of application, examination, and the Montana Law Seminar.

Nebraska  Bar exam fee for repeaters is $225 for the immediate next exam; $490 for third and subsequent retakes.

Nevada  Application fee of $60 and background report fee of $55 are in addition to the listed registration fees.

New Mexico  Applicants whose law school graduation date is 1 year or less prior to filing their applications pay an on-time application fee of $500.
All others pay an on-time application fee of $1,000. If applicable, applicants are responsible for the costs associated with investigations and ­hearings. The $100 retake fee is ­available for 1 year after the first unsuccessful examination. After that year, an unsuccessful applicant pays the full application fee. Fees for late application, up to the final application date, are available on the New Mexico Board of Bar Examiners website.

New York  The bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $250 for applicants qualifying on the basis of a first degree in law from an ABA-approved law school, law office study, or a combination of a first degree in law from an unapproved law school in the United States and practice; the fee is $750 for applicants qualifying on the basis of a foreign law school study. There is also a separate $375 attorney registration fee that must be paid prior to admission and every 2 years thereafter.

Oregon  In addition to the $750 application fee, applicants who have been admitted in any jurisdiction (foreign or domestic) or have a pending application with another jurisdiction (foreign or domestic) must pay an additional investigation fee of $425.

Rhode Island  A fee of $975 is required for all retakes, and attorney admission applicants (Rule 2(a)) must also pay for a supplemental NCBE character investigation report. Applicants can defer to the next bar examination upon payment of a $300 deferral fee. MBE scores will be transferred upon payment of $25.

South Carolina  Bar exam fee prior to first deadline is $1,000; bar exam fee prior to second deadline is $1,500. Any examinee who has been admitted to practice in another jurisdiction for more than 1 year must pay the bar exam fee plus $750.

Texas  Bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $300 for Texas law students; $490 for out-of-state law students (out-of-state students do not pay law student registration fee of $190); $1,140 for foreign-educated non-attorneys. Bar exam fee for attorneys is $1,040 for attorneys licensed in another state; $1,140 for foreign attorneys. Fees for laptop users include $80 license fee paid to the software provider and $50 fee paid to the Texas Board of Law Examiners.

Vermont  Laptop takers are responsible for any registration/licensing fees charged by the company that facilitates the laptop process.

Virginia  Bar exam application fee is $575 ($175 for deferred applicants). Character & Fitness Questionnaire (CFQ) fee is $575. Character & Fitness Update Form (CFUF) fee is $175. A CFQ or CFUF is required with every application. A CFQ is valid for 4 calendar years.

Wisconsin  Bar exam fee is $450 for US-educated applicants and $850 for graduates of law schools in other nations. All applicants retaking the exam pay a fee of $450.

Northern Mariana Islands  Additional character and fitness fees vary.

Virgin Islands  Bar exam fee for repeaters is $500 for each examination (MBE or MEE/MPT) that the applicant previously took in the Virgin Islands but failed. If an applicant elects to retake one exam, the fee is $500. If an applicant elects to retake both exams, the fee is $1,000.

Supplemental Remarks

District of Columbia  Dates are subject to change. Applicants should check the DC Court of Appeals Committee on Admissions website for updates.

Georgia  Admission to the practice of law in Georgia is a two-step process that requires the submission of two separate applications with separate deadlines and fees: (1) Application for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law in Georgia, and (2) Bar Examination Application. An applicant must first receive Certification of Fitness to Practice Law from the Board to Determine Fitness of Bar Applicants to be eligible to submit a Bar Examination Application. Initial application deadline for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law for the February exam is the first Wednesday in July; late deadline is the first Wednesday in October. Initial application deadline for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law for the July exam is the first Wednesday in December; late deadline is the first Wednesday in March.

Indiana  Repeaters have separate deadlines.

Iowa  These are final deadlines and cannot be waived.

Massachusetts  Filing deadline is approximately 75 days prior to the exam; the date is set when the application is made available. No official late filing deadlines; bar applications are filed with the Court, and late filings must be allowed by the Court.

Montana  There are no specific allowances for late filing, and all late applicants are required to petition the Supreme Court for permission.

New York  Applications must be received between November 1 and 30 for February exam and between April 1 and 30 for July exam.

Oklahoma  Repeat exam application late filing deadlines are December 15 for February exam and May 15 for July exam.

Oregon  If the chair of the Oregon State Board of Bar Examiners finds that the deadlines place an undue hardship on the Board, the Oregon State Bar, or the testing population as a whole, then the deadlines may be extended by up to 15 business days. If the chair of the Board extends any deadlines, notice shall be placed on the web page of the Oregon State Bar’s Admissions Department.

Rhode Island  Applicants seeking admission under Article II, Rule 2(a) (attorney admission on examination) must submit their applications by ­September 1 for the February examination, and by February 1 for the July examination. Applicants seeking admission under Article II, Rule 1 (admission on examination) must submit their applications by December 1 for the February examination, and by May 1 for the July examination.

Virginia  An application shall be deemed to be timely filed if (i) it is transmitted expense prepaid to the Office of the Secretary of the Board by priority, express, registered, or certified mail via the United States Postal Service, or by a third-party commercial carrier for next-day delivery, and (ii) the official receipt therefor issued by the United States Postal Service or by such third-party commercial carrier, which shall be exhibited on demand of the Secretary, shows such transmission or mailing to the Secretary’s office on or before the prescribed deadline.

Wisconsin  Foreign-schooled applicants must submit their applications by August 1 for the February exam and January 1 for the July exam.

Palau  Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the cancellation of the July 2020 Palau bar exam, Palau administered its 2021 exam in February and canceled its July 2021 exam.

Puerto Rico  Exam dates are in March and September.

California  Bar exam fees are separate from moral character application. A positive moral character determination is valid for 3 years. Thus, if a repeater has positive determination on file, the exam fee would be $677 (general applicant) or $983 (attorney applicant).

Colorado  A $200 late fee applies to applications received by the late filing deadlines (Dec. 1 for February exam; May 1 for July exam). Lower reapplication fees may apply if certain conditions are met.

Delaware  For applications filed on or before April 1: $700 for applicants not admitted in another jurisdiction; $800 for applicants admitted in another jurisdiction. For applications filed after April 1 but on or before May 1: $1,400 for applicants not admitted in another jurisdiction; $1,600 for applicants admitted in another jurisdiction.

District of Columbia  Fees are subject to change. Applicants should check the DC Court of Appeals Committee on Admissions website for updates.

Florida  Bar exam fee for attorneys is $1,600 for those admitted more than 1 year but less than 5 years; $2,000 for those admitted 5 or more years but less than 10 years; $2,400 for those admitted 10 or more years but less than 15 years; $3,000 for those admitted 15 or more years.

Georgia  There is a separate fee for the Application for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law. The fee ranges from $400 to $900 depending upon the status of the applicant at the time of submission. The applicant must apply for and receive Certification of Fitness to Practice Law prior to submitting an application for the bar examination.

Idaho  Bar exam fee for repeaters is $200 for the first 3 exams; $300 for each subsequent one.

Illinois  Bar exam fee is based on whether or not the applicant has previously filed an Illinois application, is repeating the exam, or was absent from an exam. Fee ranges from $950 to $1,450, except for repeaters, for whom range is $500 to $850. Repeater deadline ranges are November 1 to December 15 for the February exam, and May 1 to May 15 for the July exam.

Indiana  The late bar exam filing fee is $500.

Iowa  Most first-time bar exam takers must pay an $800 bar application fee. The fee for first-time bar exam takers in Iowa who have not previously been admitted to practice in any jurisdiction is $550 if they have a law student registration on file with the Office of Professional Regulation on or before January 15, 2021.

Kentucky  Fees vary depending on the deadline by which application is filed.

Louisiana  Bar exam application fee is $750 for first-time applicants who participated in the Law Student Registration program; $875 for all ­applicants other than those who participated in the Law Student Registration program.

Maine  Bar exam fee for non-attorneys includes those admitted less than 1 year in another jurisdiction.

Maryland  Repeat test takers are required to pay a $100 update fee to retake the examination if their Character Questionnaire has been pending for 3 or more years since the most recent formal update.

Michigan  $775 fee for non-attorneys does not include fingerprint fee.

Mississippi  Bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $525 if applicant filed a law student registration and $825 if applicant did not file a law student
registration. Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for 6 months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his
or her 18th birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons) must complete an NCBE report and pay the NCBE report fee. Whether the applicant is a first-time taker (non-attorney) or an attorney taking the bar exam, there is a $200 late filing fee applied to applications received by the late filing deadlines (November 1 for the February exam; April 1 for the July exam).

Missouri  Bar exam fee for non-attorneys and attorneys is $485 if never previously registered for a bar examination in Missouri but did apply for a character and fitness report as a 1L or 2L law student; $910 if never previously registered for a bar examination in Missouri and did not apply for a character and fitness report as a 1L or 2L law student. Bar exam fee for repeaters is $485 (timely filed) if applicant failed the most recent bar examination in ­Missouri; $585 (timely filed) if applicant failed a bar examination in Missouri other than the most recent exam or failed to appear at the exam for which applicant was registered.

Montana  Fees listed include the cost of application, examination, and the Montana Law Seminar.

Nebraska  Bar exam fee for repeaters is $225 for the immediate next exam; $490 for third and subsequent retakes.

Nevada  Application fee of $60 and background report fee of $55 are in addition to the listed registration fees.

New Mexico  Applicants whose law school graduation date is 1 year or less prior to filing their applications pay an on-time application fee of $500.
All others pay an on-time application fee of $1,000. If applicable, applicants are responsible for the costs associated with investigations and ­hearings. The $100 retake fee is ­available for 1 year after the first unsuccessful examination. After that year, an unsuccessful applicant pays the full application fee. Fees for late application, up to the final application date, are available on the New Mexico Board of Bar Examiners website.

New York  The bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $250 for applicants qualifying on the basis of a first degree in law from an ABA-approved law school, law office study, or a combination of a first degree in law from an unapproved law school in the United States and practice; the fee is $750 for applicants qualifying on the basis of a foreign law school study. There is also a separate $375 attorney registration fee that must be paid prior to admission and every 2 years thereafter.

Oregon  In addition to the $750 application fee, applicants who have been admitted in any jurisdiction (foreign or domestic) or have a pending application with another jurisdiction (foreign or domestic) must pay an additional investigation fee of $425.

Rhode Island  A fee of $975 is required for all retakes, and attorney admission applicants (Rule 2(a)) must also pay for a supplemental NCBE character investigation report. Applicants can defer to the next bar examination upon payment of a $300 deferral fee. MBE scores will be transferred upon payment of $25.

South Carolina  Bar exam fee prior to first deadline is $1,000; bar exam fee prior to second deadline is $1,500. Any examinee who has been admitted to practice in another jurisdiction for more than 1 year must pay the bar exam fee plus $750.

Texas  Bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $300 for Texas law students; $490 for out-of-state law students (out-of-state students do not pay law student registration fee of $190); $1,140 for foreign-educated non-attorneys. Bar exam fee for attorneys is $1,040 for attorneys licensed in another state; $1,140 for foreign attorneys. Fees for laptop users include $80 license fee paid to the software provider and $50 fee paid to the Texas Board of Law Examiners.

Vermont  Laptop takers are responsible for any registration/licensing fees charged by the company that facilitates the laptop process.

Virginia  Bar exam application fee is $575 ($175 for deferred applicants). Character & Fitness Questionnaire (CFQ) fee is $575. Character & Fitness Update Form (CFUF) fee is $175. A CFQ or CFUF is required with every application. A CFQ is valid for 4 calendar years.

Wisconsin  Bar exam fee is $450 for US-educated applicants and $850 for graduates of law schools in other nations. All applicants retaking the exam pay a fee of $450.

Northern Mariana Islands  Additional character and fitness fees vary.

Virgin Islands  Bar exam fee for repeaters is $500 for each examination (MBE or MEE/MPT) that the applicant previously took in the Virgin Islands but failed. If an applicant elects to retake one exam, the fee is $500. If an applicant elects to retake both exams, the fee is $1,000.